The Columbus Destroyers are back! AFL team shows off logo and announces coach


NBC4 Jobs

COLUMBUS (WCMH) — What is old is new again. Columbus’ Arena Football League team will be retaining their name as the Destroyers.

At a news conference Friday, league and team officials announced the name and released their logo. 

It was also announced that Matthew Sauk will be the head coach of the team. Sauk is a former quarterback at Utah State University.  

It was announced earlier this month that an AFL team would be returning to Columbus. 

The team will play 12 regular season games in a 6-team league. 

The Columbus Destroyers played from 2004-2008 at Nationwide Arena.

Earle Bruce and Chris Spielman were among the former coaches during their tenure.

Columbus made the ArenaBowl championship game in 2007 with current Chicago Bears head coach Matt Nagy as the quarterback.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

NBC4 Jobs

Trending on

Today's Central OH Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss


Storm Team 4 on Alexa