Big Ten to play conference-only football schedule


COLUMBUS (WCMH) — The Big Ten announced Thursday it will play a conference-only schedule for all fall sports, including football in 2020.

Ohio State will not play Bowling Green on Sept. 5, Oregon on Sept. 12 and Buffalo on Sept. 19. Under this plan, the Buckeyes will start their season at home against Rutgers on Sept. 26.

Right now, the Buckeyes will play nine games during the regular season with five home games and four away games.

In its press release, the Big Ten does not say how the schedule could be amended, or whether games will be added. The release also says schedule decisions will come later.

This measure is not as extreme as the one taken on Wednesday by the Ivy League, which became the first Division I conference to suspend all fall sports.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on

Today's Central OH Forecast

Get severe weather email alerts

Don't Miss

Local News

WATCH: Ohio State band alumni return for quad Script Ohio

After record-low attendance, OSU fans come out for Akron game

TBDBITL halftime show pays tribute to country music, alumni form quad Script Ohio

Coshocton Sheriff: Deputy fatally shoots suspect who broke into school, took deputy's firearm

What does it take to be a firefighter? Reynoldsburg residents get first-hand look

Kyle McCord starting at QB in Ohio State’s game against Akron

More Local News