COLUMBUS, Ohio (WCMH) — The Cincinnati Bengals are on their way to the Super Bowl for the first time in 33 years, beating the Kansas City Chiefs 27-24 in overtime Sunday.

The Bengals erased an 18-point deficit — tying an AFC title game record — to take a late 24-21 lead on an Evan McPherson 52-yard field goal. But Harrison Butker’s 44-yard field goal as time expired in regulation sent it to overtime a week after his 49-yarder on the final play of regulation did the same against Buffalo.

One week after Buffalo’s Josh Allen called tails and it came up heads for the overtime coin toss — giving Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs the ball — Cincinnati backup quarterback Brandon Allen called heads and the coin came up tails. The Chiefs opened overtime again with the ball, but Vonn Bell intercepted Mahomes on the third play, and Burrow and the Bengals took over.

It was McPherson again who put the game away for the Bengals, nailing a 31-yard field goal with 9:22 left in OT.

The Bengals (13-7) will play NFC Champions the Los Angeles Rams in the Super Bowl in LA on Feb. 13.

Mahomes and the Chiefs (14-6) will be left to lament blowing a chance at a third straight Super Bowl appearance.

The playoffs remain a monumental achievement for the Bengals, a team that struggled through most of the 1990s and 2000s, winning their first playoff game in 31 years on Jan. 15, beating the Las Vegas Raiders in the Wild Card. Last week, the Bengals picked up the franchise’s first playoff road win against #1 Tennessee Titans.

In the first meeting between the teams, the Bengals beat the Chiefs on Jan. 2 in Cincinnati in a back-and-forth thriller that ended when rookie Evan McPherson drilled a 20-yard field goal as time expired. QB Joe Burrow threw for 446 yards and four touchdowns, most of it going to wide receiver Ja’Marr Chase.