Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins named Heisman finalist


COLUMBUS (WCMH) — Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins has been invited to New York as one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

Haskins joins Alabama QB Tua Tagovailoa and Oklahoma QB Kyler Murray in the top three.

The award will be presented during a program Saturday at 8pm on ESPN.

Haskins led the nation with 47 touchdown passes and finished with 4,580 yards passing in a spectacular season. The sophomore’s emergence has been a remarkable development for the Buckeyes, who rode his steady playmaking to another conference crown.

Tagovailoa and Murray will also face off in the College Football Playoff.

The finalists are determined by the margin of votes received, starting with the third- and fourth-place finishers. Ballots from 928 voters were due Monday.

The last time three quarterbacks were finalists was 2008, when Sam Bradford of Oklahoma won over Colt McCoy of Texas and Tim Tebow of Florida.

Haskins’ appearance is the first for a Buckeye since 2006, when Troy Smith won the trophy.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on NBC4i.com

Today's Central OH Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss


Storm Team 4 on Alexa