Full 2023 central Ohio primary election results

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WCMH) – Voters could almost be forgiven if they weren’t aware of an election Tuesday; there are no major national or statewide races to speak of and few, if any, advertisements bombarding the airwaves.

Unless you reside in a specific school district or city, or have a vested interest in when your local store can sell liquor on Sunday, chances are you may not even have had a ballot to cast Tuesday.

For Franklin County, the ballot was sparse, with some portions of the county not even holding primaries. In total, 1,795 voters out of 36,876 eligible voters, or 4.87% of the electorate, voted in Tuesday’s election, according to unofficial numbers from the board of elections.

For Gahanna mayor, incumbent Laurie A. Jadwin had 926 votes (61%) to Steve Browne’s 592 (39%). Both candidates will square off again in the November general election.

Other county precincts held liquor sales votes, and Madison-Plains School District, only a portion of which is in the southwestern corner of the county, voted on a bond issue.

Ballots were sparse across central Ohio as well. South of Columbus, a Republican mayoral primary took place in Circleville as city councilwoman Michelle L. Blanton defeated businessman David Horning for the Republican nomination for mayor. Blanton moves on to face Democrat Zack Brooks in November.

There were also three at-large Circleville City Council Republican seats up for grabs, with Thomas A. Klitzka (576 or 23.71%) joining councilmembers Katie Logan Hedges (683 or 28.12%) and Sheri Theis (671 or 27.62%). Tom Spring was the odd man out, garnering the fewest votes (499 or 20.54%).

In Coshocton County, a Republican primary for mayor of Coshocton saw Thomas Heading Jr. win with 533 votes (78.27%) over Stanley Braxton with 148 votes (21.73%).

In London, Madison County, incumbent Patrick Closser beat London City Council President Henry Comer in the Republican primary for mayor. Closser finished with 533 votes (55.35%) to Comer’s 430 votes (44.65%).

In Marion’s mayoral race, Republicans chose former police chief and current Marion County Deputy Sheriff William Collins over activist Susan McGowan. Collins had 907 votes (82.16%) to McGowan’s 197 votes (17.84%). Collins will now face Democrat Glenn D. Coble in November.

In Bucyrus, Crawford County, Bruce Truka fended off Jenny Vermillion and Mark Makeever in the Republican primary for mayor. Truka had 603 votes (47.37%) to Makeever’s 336 (26.39%) and Vermillion’s 334 (26.24%).

All results are unofficial until canvassed by their respective county board of elections.