Early voting begins in special election for Stivers’ Congressional seat

Your Local Election HQ

COLUMBUS (WCMH) — Starting Wednesday at 8 a.m., early voting in the 15th Congressional District will open in the special primary election to replace former Representative Steve Stivers.

Registered voters can go to the Franklin County Board of Elections at 1700 Morse Road in Columbus during the following days and hours to vote early:

Wednesday, July 7 thru Friday, July 23, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Monday, July 26 thru Friday, July 30, 8 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Saturday, July 31, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Sunday, August 1, 1 p.m. – 5 p.m.
Monday, August 2, 8 a.m. – 2 p.m

The special primary election is needed because Stivers resigned his seat in the U.S. House of Representatives earlier this year to take over as President and CEO of the Ohio Chamber of Commerce.

There are two Democrats and 12 Republicans running in the primary.

Both registered Republicans and Democrats can vote in the primary since there are candidates from both parties seeking the seat.

The 15th Congressional District covers approximately half of Franklin County, including Upper Arlington, Hilliard, Grove City, and downtown and western parts of Columbus.

Election day for the primaries is Aug. 3, with the general election falling on Nov. 3.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on NBC4i.com

Today's Central OH Forecast

Get severe weather email alerts

Don't Miss

Local News

Police investigating deadly shooting in south Columbus

Shooting near northeast Columbus gas station leaves one person dead

Updated Morning Forecast: July 29, 2021

Without mandates, central Ohio school districts having to make masking decisions

Vehicle thefts hurting central Ohio non-profit organization's efforts to help seniors, kids

Central Ohio climbers excited as sport makes Olympic debut

More Local News