COLUMBUS, Ohio (WCMH) – The more Columbus City government changes, the more it stays the same, at least according to the voters.

All incumbents on Tuesday’s ballot were reelected to their respective seats while city council added three new members to its ranks.

Mayor Andrew Ginther won his third term, defeating Joe Motil 63% to 36% of the vote with 98% of precincts reporting, according to unofficial election results.

Meanwhile, on Columbus City Council, incumbents Nick Bankston and Emmanuel Remy fought off challengers Farxaan Jeyte and Adrienne Hood respectively; Bankston defeated Jeyte 70% to 30% and Remy defeated Hood 60% to 40%, unofficial results show.

They will be joined by newcomer Nancy Day-Achauer, an ordained minister for the United Methodist Church, who defeated Luis Gil 72% to 28%, according to unofficial election results.

Council incumbents Rob Dorans, Shayla Favor, Lourdes Barroso de Padilla, and Shannon Hardin all ran unopposed in their races. Also running unopposed are council newcomers Chris Wyche and Melissa Green.

This election saw council jump from seven to nine members due to a 2018 voter-approved referendum creating a hybrid council-at-large district system. Council members are still elected via city-wide votes, but each elected council member must live in the district they represent. The city says this system will give residents better access to their council members.

At council’s first 2024 meeting, the nine districts will be divided into two lots via random draw. Members from the districts in the first lot, consisting of five districts, will serve four-year terms, while the remaining districts in the second lot will serve two-year terms until the 2026 election, when the terms will be extended to four years.