Department of Defense restricts service members to local travel only until May 11th

U.S. & World

FILE – In this Sept. 2017 file photo, a flag is waved outside the White House, in Washington. The Trump administration announced Friday that it was curbing legal immigration from six additional countries that officials said did not meet security screening standards, as part of an election-year push to further restrict immigration. Officials said immigrants from Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Eritrea, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania will face new restrictions in obtaining certain visas to come to the United States. But it is not a total travel ban, unlike President Donald Trump’s earlier effort that generated outrage around the world for unfairly targeting Muslims. (AP Photo/Carolyn Kaster)

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WCMH) — The Deputy Secretary of Defense David L. Norquist announced new travel restrictions for service members, DoD civilians and their families assigned to DoD installations.

The order will stop all domestic travel including Permanent Change of Station and Temporary Duty according to officials. They also say service members are allowed local leave only.

This new guideline is effective March 16 through May 11.

For more information, visit The U.S Department of Defense.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on

Today's Central OH Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss


Storm Team 4 on Alexa