Ohio House passes bill legalizing consumer fireworks

Ohio Statehouse Newsroom

COLUMBUS (WCMH) — The Ohio House has passed a bill that will legalize consumer fireworks in the state.

Senate Bill 113 allows Ohio residents to possess consumer fireworks, eliminating the requirement that pyrotechnics be taken out of the state within 48 hours of purchase.

The bill will allow individuals to discharge consumer-grade fireworks in Ohio on the following days:

  • New Year’s Eve/Day
  • Chinese New Year
  • Cinco de Mayo
  • Memorial Day Weekend
  • Juneteenth
  • July 3rd, 4th and 5th and the previous and following weekends
  • Labor Day Weekend
  • Diwali
  • Any other legal holiday

Under the bill, local governments can restrict or ban fireworks inside their boundaries.

If signed by the governor, it will go into effect in 2022.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on NBC4i.com

Today's Central OH Forecast

Get severe weather email alerts

Don't Miss

Local News

Central Ohio housing market shows no signs of slowing down

Gahanna-Jefferson mandates masks for students K-8

With eviction moratorium expired, renters looking for help in central Ohio

Maggie Barrie's Olympic journey ends with marriage proposal

Dayton mass shooting victims file lawsuit against magazine manufacturer

Ohio COVID-19 vaccinations increasing in response to spreading Delta variant

More Local News