Mississippi ordering those with COVID to isolate or face up to 5 years in prison

News

MISSISSIPPI (WJW) — Those who contract COVID-19 in Mississippi are being asked to either isolate at home for 10 days or more or otherwise face a prison sentence of up to five years.

The new order was issued by the Mississippi State Department of Health on Friday as cases continue to mount in the state.

Since coronavirus can be life-threatening, those who don’t comply with the alert could also potentially face a $5,000 fine along with prison time.

Mississippi is one of the least vaccinated states in the country, with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reporting that only about 38% of the eligible population is fully vaccinated.

The order went into effect on Friday.

Read the full order below:

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on NBC4i.com

Today's Central OH Forecast

Get severe weather email alerts

Don't Miss

Local News

Fans have easier time getting into Ohio Stadium after digtial ticket issues during home opener

Columbus event offers free haircuts, political engagement

Columbus Latino festival offers live music, international flavor

Ohio State University Marching Band halftime performance for Sept. 18, 2021

AEP reports 6,700 customers without power in downtown, west Columbus

All-women’s Columbus Fire Department training session hopes to boost diversity

More Local News