COLUMBUS, Ohio (WCMH)– Early voting is underway for the August 3 Primary Special Election to fill the vacated seats in Ohio’s 11th and 15th Congressional Districts.

The special election will replace former Rep. Marcia Fudge from the Cleveland area and former Rep. Steve Stivers from Central Ohio. Only registered voters in the 11th and 15th districts can participate.

Both resigned from Congress in the Spring to take other positions. Fudge is now the Secretary of Housing and Urban Development for the Biden Administration, and Stivers is the president and CEO of the Ohio Chamber of Commerce.

Early Voting Hours:

  • July 7-9: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
  • July 12-16: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
  • July 19-23: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
  • July 26-30: 8:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
  • July 31: 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
  • August 1: 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
  • August 2: 8:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Absentee ballots are also available upon request at or you can make your own on a plain piece of paper.

“Why this might be a good idea [for the August 3 primary election] is that there are a lot of candidates on the ballot, particularly on the Republican ballot this year, there’s something like a dozen candidates,” said Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose. “And so if you want to be able to be a really informed voter and do your homework– if you request that absentee ballot, you can sit there at your kitchen table, you can google the candidates and find out what you need to know about them and then cast your ballot being fully informed.”

Important Special Election Dates:

  • Special Primary Election Registration Deadline: Jul. 6
  • Early voting begins: Jul. 7
  • Primary Election Day: Aug. 3
  • General Election Registration Deadline: Oct. 4
  • General Election Day: Nov. 2

Watch the full interview with Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose about Special Election voting in the video below.