Six police officers who responded to Dayton mass shooting honored in Columbus

Local News

COLUMBUS (WCMH) — The six officers who responded to the Dayton mass shooting in the Oregon District in August will receive the Outstanding Peace Officer of the Year award for their actions on Thursday from the Ohio Prosecuting Attorneys Association in Columbus.

Officers responding to the Aug. 4 shooting in Dayton’s Oregon District neighborhood shot and killed the suspect who had fatally shot nine people.

The six officers stopped the threat in less than 45 seconds.

The officers were nominated to receive the award by the Montgomery County Prosecutor Mat Heck, Jr.

“The brave, quick response of these six officers put an abrupt end to the gunman’s shooting, saving countless other lives in the process,” said Heck in a news release. “I believe it is clear these officers deserve, and I nominate, these officers to be recognized and honored for their actions.”

The six officers who will be honored are:

  • Sgt. William Knight
  • Jeremy Campbell
  • Vincent Carter
  • David Denlinger
  • Ryan Nabel
  • Brian Rolfes

The officers were decorated with the Medal of Valor by President Donald Trump in September.

You can watch the event live on

It will be held scheduled at the Hilton Columbus at Easton at 12:45 pm

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on

Today's Central OH Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss