Ohio State ‘Tattoo Five’ demand wins and records back in open letter to NCAA

Local News

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WCMH) — Former Ohio State quarterback Terrelle Pryor, along with four former Buckeyes, wrote a letter to the NCAA demanding the wins and records from 2010 be restored.

The 2010 team was punished because Pryor, Mike Adams, Daniel “Boom” Herron, DeVier Posey and Solomon Thomas, known as the “Tattoo Five,” received improper benefits from a local tattoo parlor owner. All five players signed their name on the letter, which reads in part:

The 2010 Ohio State football team earned a 12-1 record, won a Big Ten Championship, won a Sugar Bowl, produced a top-5 all-time passer (Terrelle Pryor), a top-5 career all-time receiver (DeVier Posey), a top-10 all-time rusher (Daniel “Boom” Herron), and an All-American (Mike Adams) all for it to be wiped unceremoniously from the record books.

Although this could never undo what we and our families endured for breaking rules that shouldn’t have existed in the first place, we believe reinstating and acknowledging the accomplishments of ourselves and our teammates would be a huge step in the right direction.

Terrelle Pryor Sr., Mike Adams, Daniel “Boom” Herron, DeVier Posey and Solomon Thomas

The players wrote this letter following the NCAA’s decision to allow all student athletes to make money from their name, image and likeness.

The NCAA vacated all of Ohio State’s 12 wins from the 2010 season after the five players were found to have traded memorabilia for tattoos.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on NBC4i.com

Today's Central OH Forecast

Get severe weather email alerts

Don't Miss

Local News

TikTok challenge ‘Devious Licks’ leading to damage in school buildings

FULL NEWS CONFERENCE: State health director Dr. Bruce Vanderhoff

Stinky gas becomes clean fuel supply with OSU researchers

FULL: Motion hearing for George Wanger III

Possible fentanyl exposure causes Fairfield County Jail to go on lockdown

Ohio Redistricting Commission approves four-year legislative map after vote along party lines

More Local News