Franklin Co. Level 1 snow emergency lifted; multiple Ohio counties remain under snow emergencies

Local News

Several Ohio communities remain under snow emergencies or winter weather advisories on Sunday after the weekend winter storm dropped about four inches of snow on central Ohio and surrounding counties.

Franklin County was under a Level 1 snow emergency since Saturday evening. The Level 1 snow emergency was lifted just after noon on Sunday, according to Franklin County Sheriff Dallas Baldwin.

The four inches of snow that fell in Columbus was just shy of the record 4.4 inches of snow that fell on Jan. 12, 1895.

The Dayton area had the most snowfall with 6.1 inches of snow, according to NBC4 Meteorologist Liz McGiffin.

The previous record for that area at the same time in January 1964 was 5.8 inches, she said.

Cincinnati, which was expected to get the most snow, saw less than three inches of snow, McGiffin said.

Level 1: 

A Level 1 Snow Emergency means roadways are snow-covered and drivers should use caution. The following counties are under a Level 1:

  • Athens
  • Coshocton
  • Hocking
  • Jackson
  • Logan
  • Morgan
  • Pickaway
  • Ross
  • Vinton

Level 2: 

  • Guernsey
  • Perry

“…Under a Level 2 snow emergency….Roadways are hazardous with blowing and drifting snow. Roads may also be very icy. Only those who feel it is necessary to drive should be out on the roads. Contact your employer to see if you should report to work. Motorists should use extreme caution,” said Athens County Sheriff Rodney Smith

Several other Ohio counties remain under a winter weather advisory.

A winter weather advisory for snow means periods of snow will cause travel difficulties. Residents can expect snow-covered roads and limited visibility and motorists should use caution while driving, according to the National Weather Service.

A Winter Weather Advisory from 7 a.m. Saturday until 7 a.m. Sunday has been issued for the following counties: 

  • Hocking County
  • Champaign County
  • Clark County
  • Hardin County
  • Mercer County
  • Auglaize County
  • Shelby County
  • Logan County
  • Union County
  • Miami County

A Winter Weather Advisory from noon Saturday until 7 a.m. Sunday has been issued for the following counties: 

  • Muskingum County
  • Guernsey County
  • Noble County
  • Coshocton County

A Winter Weather Advisory has been extended from 3 a.m. to noon on Sunday for the following counties:

  • Licking County
  • Franklin County
  • Fairfield County
  • Pike County

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on

Today's Central OH Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss


Storm Team 4 on Alexa