DeWine issues mask mandate for all Ohioans

Local News

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WCMH)– Governor Mike DeWine has issued a mask mandate for all Ohio counties starting Thursday at 6 p.m.

The face covering mandate is for everyone in the state 10 years and older when they are in indoor spaces that are not a private residence and outside when social distancing is not possible.

The following are exempt from the mask mandate:

  • People who have a medical reason, a disability, or are trying to communicate with a person who has a disability
  • People actively exercising or playing sports
  • People speaking at a religious service
  • People actively involved in public safety
  • People actively eating or drinking

“We have to get this virus under control,” DeWine stated. “Wearing a mask is going to make a difference in what our fall looks like.”

The governor made the announcement Wednesday after stating that counties where masks have already been mandated have seen their COVID-19 case growth numbers slow.

Prior to this mandate, only people in Ohio counties that were classified at at level 3 or above on the Ohio Public Health Advisory System were required by the state to wear a mask.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on

Today's Central OH Forecast

Get severe weather email alerts

Don't Miss

Local News

VIDEO: Mostly maskless crowd attends Nationwide Arena concert despite Columbus indoor mask mandate

Columbus firefighter dies after contracting COVID-19 while on duty

Violent crime surge in Columbus

Columbus indoor mask mandate

Whiskey, vodka, scotch shortages hitting Ohio's bars and restaurants

Monday, Sept. 20 evening forecast

More Local News