Lee Seung-Hoon makes late push to win mass start gold


South Korean speed skating legend, Lee Seung-Hoon, won the mass start to the delight of the home crowd.

Lee entered the race as the favorite having won the mass start world title in 2016.

He has now won 5 Olympic medals from 2010 through 2018.

Lee was able to win due to the help of his teammate Chung Jae-Won. Chung finished eighth, but was able to set the pace, allowing Lee to finish strong at the end.


Bart Swings and Koen Verweij followed Lee on the podium.

Swings wins Belgium’s first Winter Olympic medal since 1998.

Verweij is the 12th Dutch skater to win an individual speed skating medal in PyeongChang.

Joey Mantia was the final skater to advance out of semifinal 2 with three points. Mantia, the reigning world champion, finished ninth in the final.

Brian Hansen missed out on the final after finishing in tenth with just one sprint point.

After being shut out in Sochi, the U.S. completed their participation in PyeongChang with one speed skating medal.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


Trending on NBC4i.com

Today's Central OH Forecast

More Forecast

Don't Miss


Storm Team 4 on Alexa