FRANKLIN CO., Ohio (WCMH)–The Franklin County Board of Commissioners voted Tuesday to ban non-essential travel to North Carolina and Mississippi.

Mississippi recently passed a law that lets churches and some private businesses deny services to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people because of religious beliefs. North Carolina’s “bathroom bill” directs transgender people to use bathrooms corresponding to the sex on their birth certificate in many public buildings.

Tuesday, the commissioners approved a resolution saying “no non-essential official travel by employees of the commissioners to the states of North Carolina or Mississippi shall be sought or approved until such time as the laws in those states no longer explicitly permit discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity.”

The travel ban affects only Board of Commissioners employees at all of their 14 various agencies, including Animal Shelter, Child Support, Economic Development, and Homeland Security.What others are clicking on: