How to watch the Opening Ceremony of the Tokyo Olympic Games

Japan 2020

Witness all the pageantry of the Tokyo Olympics Opening Ceremony on NBC Credit: Guy Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

NBC Olympics will provide unprecedented coverage of the Opening Ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics on Friday, July 23, creating a full day of Olympic programming on NBC that culminates in what is always one of the most-watched nights in television with the primetime presentation of the Ceremony. The day will begin with the network’s first-ever live morning broadcast of an Opening Ceremony (LIVE STREAM LINK), followed by a special edition of TODAY with reaction and athlete interviews and then NBC’s first-ever Olympic Daytime show on the opening Friday of the Games.

The highly anticipated Tokyo Opening Ceremony will be the first major global gathering since the worldwide pandemic began last year. The NBC primetime broadcast will feature special coverage of Team USA, along with the performances, pageantry, and Parade of Nations, the heart of any Opening Ceremony, which will be especially meaningful this year. Coverage begins at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT on NBC, as well as the NBC Sports app and NBCOlympics.com (LIVE STREAM LINK).

In order to provide viewers with the opportunity to share this historic experience with people from around the world as it happens, the Tokyo Opening Ceremony will also be broadcast live on NBC across all time zones starting at 6:55 a.m. ET/3:55 a.m. PT, including participation by TODAY anchors who viewers welcome into their homes each morning. It can also be streamed live in the NBC Sports app and on NBCOlympics.com. This marks the first time NBC Olympics will broadcast an Opening Ceremony live in the morning. With Tokyo 13 hours ahead of the east coast of the United States, the Opening Ceremony begins at 8 p.m. in Japan, which is 7 a.m. ET/4 a.m. PT.

The NBC primetime coverage of the Tokyo Opening Ceremony will be replayed overnight, allowing viewers another opportunity to experience this historic moment and creating a near Ceremony takeover of NBC.

JULY 23 TOKYO OLYMPICS PROGRAMMING ON NBC

All Times ET

6:55 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.Live Opening Ceremony Coverage
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.Special Edition of TODAY
1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.Tokyo Olympics Daytime
7:30 p.m. – MidnightPrimetime Opening Ceremony
12:35 a.m. – 5:00 a.m.*Overnight Replay of Opening Ceremony

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on NBC4i.com

Today's Central OH Forecast

Get severe weather email alerts

Don't Miss

Local News

Suspect still at large after pursuit across county lines ends in Columbus

Health officials press conference

Things to do: Columbus, Ohio, weekend activities and events July 5 – Aug. 8

Ben Gelber: Warm summer weather with mostly sunny skies, isolated showers east

Columbus family suffers through losing two brothers in one year to gun violence

Three months after crash, losing legs, Columbus man not finished fighting

More Local News