(NBC) — NBC’s “American Song Contest” continues Monday with representatives from 12 more states and U.S. territories are competing with original music.

More than six years after winning “The Voice,” Jordan Smith earned last week’s Jury Pick and an instant spot in the Semi-Finals of “American Song Contest,” representing Kentucky.

“It doesn’t necessarily feel like a win for me, it feels like a win for Kentucky, for my people,” said Smith. “It’s an honor to be able to be here to represent them.”

The other 10 acts from last week have had to wait all week to find out Monday which three have been voted through to join Smith in the Semi-Finals.

“It is the people’s song now, it’s not my song anymore,” said Jocelyn, who represents Nebraska. “It’s in the hands of them.”

Twelve more acts will take the stage after Monday’s reveal, performing their songs, hoping they are good enough to earn them the chance to advance.

“Hype, hype, I’m just gonna let the frequencies rise within me,” said Delaware’s representative, Nitro Nitra.

“I’m not nervous, no, I’m incredibly excited,” said Riker Lynch of Colorado.

“It’s definitely the biggest thing I’ve ever done, like, the lights, the cameras, all this — it’s a lot,”  said Louisiana’s  Brittany Pfantz. “But it feels natural in a way too.”

Grammy nominee Jewel is also among Monday’s performers representing Alaska and for her, the playing field is even.

“Anybody can write a good song,” said Jewel. “You don’t have to be famous. I don’t think somebody famous versus not famous has an edge on this show because it’s literally about the song.”

And, delivering the one that succeeds.

“I’m really excited,” said Brooke Alexx of New Jersey. “This is a dream come true.”

A national stage awaits.

“American Song Contest” airs Monday at 8 p.m. on NBC4.

Monday, April 4: The Qualifiers Part 3

  • ALABAMA – Ni/Co
  • ALASKA – Jewel
  • COLORADO – Riker Lynch
  • DELAWARE – Nitro Nitra
  • FLORIDA – Ale Zabala
  • LOUISIANA – Brittany Pfantz
  • NEW JERSEY – Brooke Alexx
  • SOUTH CAROLINA – Jesse Leprotti
  • SOUTH DAKOTA – Judd Hoos
  • TENNESSEE – Tyler Braden
  • TEXAS – Grant Knoche


Fans at home can vote for their favorite performances on nbc.com/ascvote, the NBC App and on TikTok.  Voting for the Qualifiers will open Mondays during the show and will close Wednesday morning at 7 am ET.

  • The competition will be comprised of three rounds, taking place over eight weeks. The Qualifying Rounds will have 11 acts in each episode (with one week featuring 12). Twenty-two artists will perform in the two-part Semi-Finals with the Top 10 performing in the Grand Final, where a winner will be crowned.
  •  In the five-week Qualifiers (March 21, 28, April 4, 11, 18) at the end of each night, the jury will advance one artist immediately to the Semi-Finals. The remaining three spots will be determined through a combination of jury and fan votes. The artists advancing to the Semi-Finals will be announced the following week.
  • In the Semi-Finals (April 25 & May 2), 10 artists will perform each week, with a slightly elevated performance of their original song.
  • To make the stakes even higher, in each Semi-Final a “redemption” song will be revealed, adding an 11th artist back into the competition to perform that week for the chance to advance to the Grand Final.
  • At the end of each Semi-Final, the jury awards their highest-rated artist with an immediate spot in the Grand Final. America’s votes will then help to decide along with the jury which four additional artists will advance.
  • In the Grand Final (May 9), the top 10 artists take the stage one last time to win America’s and the jury’s vote for best hit song.