COLUMBUS (WCMH) — Franklin County has dropped to red (level 3) in the latest Ohio coronavirus advisory map, but eight other counties are purple (level 4). 

Only eight counties are orange (level 2), with 72 being red. There are no yellow (level 1) counties.

Ohio Governor Mike DeWine also announced during his regular briefing that Fairfield, Madison, and Cuyahoga counties are on the watch list.

Dr. Andy Thomas with the Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center stressed during DeWine’s briefing that while it’s a good thing Franklin County has dropped, it’s not out of the woods yet.

“Franklin County has gone from purple to red, but this does not mean that Franklin County is out of the woods. We still have a rate of cases that is six time higher than the definition of high incidence. That is not good. We are not on our way down yet,” said Thomas.

The purple counties are:

  • Lake
  • Lorain
  • Medina
  • Summit
  • Portage
  • Richland
  • Stark
  • Montgomery

According to DeWine all 88 counties are still considered high incidence under the CDC’s guidelines.