CDC: Masks recommended for everyone indoors in Columbus, Franklin County


COLUMBUS (WCMH) — The CDC is now recommending masks indoors for Franklin and four of its neighboring counties in central Ohio regardless of whether they have been vaccinated.

An updated map Friday from the CDC on its data tracker shows substantial spread of COVID-19 in these counties in central Ohio:

  • Crawford
  • Delaware
  • Fairfield
  • Fayette
  • Franklin
  • Guernsey
  • Licking
  • Marion
  • Ross

The CDC recommends that everyone wear masks indoors in public areas where there are substantial or high community transmission rates of COVID-19. It is a recommendation and not an order or mandate.

Around the state, eight counties show high transmission, none in central Ohio.

The CDC tracks every county in the nation for cases. Counties are ranked and color-coded according to four levels of transmission: low (blue), moderate (yellow), orange (substantial), and red (high).

NBC4 is tracking the data and will post updates as they become available.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on

Today's Central OH Forecast

Get severe weather email alerts

Don't Miss

Local News

Person hospitalized after being struck by car in west Columbus

Walk to End Alzheimer's returns in-person in Columbus

Organization helps central Ohio veterans look good, feel good with free suits

The Spectrum 9/26/2021

FULL PRESS CONFERENCE: Ryan Day and the Buckeyes react to the dominating win over Akron

Overnight Weather Forecast 09-26-2021

More Local News